Not sure where to post my questions.

JennieJo

Experimentalist
Contributing Member
Hoping this a good place to start.
Background, I'm totally self-taught in oil painting. The one this I have trouble having confidence in my knowledge is: finishings. I have read a lot, but all my tests have been unsatisfactory: too glossy, too uneven, ...

I want to get a good finish on this work, oil paint
on canvas. Created over many years, lots of editing and some major focus changes.

Any hints, products, process links etc will be gratefully received

Extra info: it's a tribute to my dad. His life in review.

1000002821-04.jpeg
1000002820-02.jpeg
1000002821-03.jpeg

It's a great painting. I'm not sure what exactly you're looking for in terms of advice. It doesn't look too glossy or uneven to me, according to these pictures.

Love this, Jennie - beautiful results! Of course as Ayin says, we're only looking at your photos so some of what's concerning you may not be visible.

The textures look gorgeous. When you write "too uneven" are you referring to your application of your oil paints? The colors look rich and beautiful and I can't detect thin areas, just nice brush strokes.

As to glossy, I don't know. Oil pastels are the closest thing I've used and I can comment that the oil content can vary widely between manufacturers (along with pigment, wax, etc), so could that be part of what you're noticing?

Aside from that, I got nothing! Hopefully another user in the medium will weigh in.

To repeat, the photos here show a rich and beautiful painting. ❤️ I love it!