NEED HELP MAKING MY PHOTOGRAPHS LOOK PROFESSIONAL!!

Okino

I just recently embarked in a path to make my art and photography come out of it being just my hobby to making it my career, but I am completely self taught and was always so scared to put my work out there, I know my work isn't professional and I am still learning as I go. I offered my friends some free photoshoots to have reference for future customers, and I had a blast at the shoot, but once I got home to editing, I felt I just couldn't make them look pro. It is a lot to ask but I want to keep going and take that next step! Any help would be amazing. I always hoped I'd find a mentor, or just someone to guide me, but I am on this ride alone, hoping you beautiful people wouldn't mind stretching a hand to help me up.

This is some of the photos I took... please comment!!

Attachments

• tania-47.jpg
    tania-47.jpg
    181.9 KB · Views: 36
I can offer my opinions on some technical things here. But - they are only my opinions. :)

First, if all of the children are the main subjects of this shoot (as opposed to just the center one), then they should not have their faces or bodies clipped by the railings, which happens on either side.

If you liked the grouping (one standing two seated), then taking a step or two closer in, and get yourself a stool to raise yourself (and camera) upwards so you have a better angle with no obstructions in front of your subjects.

Also, there is needless space on either side of the frame that diminishes the importance of your subjects. They should be the center of attention, not the white fencing around them - and again, certainly not the large red posts in front of them.

Another thing to consider when you photograph in color are the same principles that we use in painting. Warm colors advance; cool colors recede. Those large red posts are overpowering the subjects, who are not only literally behind them, but are also all wearing various shades of blue.