New to the site

Terri

Supporting Member
Hi everyone - I'm new here. I was pointed this way from WC (it appears many of us are!) and am very glad to see a few familiar names already. I was terriks at WC, but decided to modify that to my actual first name only, which I can do in this more intimate group. Yay!

I work in oil pastels. That's a tough one to learn since there's so little info out there. The WC community was fantastic at helping me as I fumbled along. I'm still not very good, and have no formal art training, but I love the medium and trying new things.

I am first and foremost a photographer, working only with film, and working with what are called alternative photographic techniques - toning, hand coloring prints, making bromoil and lith prints - lots of things. However, it's been on pause for a few years due to a back injury, so turning to oil pastels has been such a gift as an artistic outlet I can at least TRY to do. :giggle: I'm an admin at a photo forum so that also keeps me busy.

I appreciate being here.

Terri, Welcome! So glad to see you here. My OPs are on a table waiting to be used, then I got involved with a few other projects. I haven't been in a hurry to use them as, as you know, I hadn't mastered them myself.

Well hello, old friend! 👋 How great to see you here.

I understand about getting pulled to other projects. Happens to us all. I love your OP work and hope you get to a point where you can pick them back up and have a play. :)

I'm not working on anything atm. I'm far from feeling a master myself! In the meantime, will likely post some completed stuff here. I'll have to check out which forum would be best for OP's.

Hi Terri, nice to make your acquaintance. Have you tried the NeoColor Caran D'Ache watersoluble wax crayons? They behave as oil pastels, less messy, and more colorful than traditional pastels.

Hi KreativeK! I think I've seen you over at WC in the past. So nice to see you here!