Two Birds

ZenDruid

Supporting Member
A Great Blue Heron and American Crow, photographed along Lake Champlain, New York. The Herons are common around here, there's a small island rookery nearby. I caught this guy taking off from an icy pond. I like the awkward form, reminds me of a Japanese crane. In the next second those legs straightened, the wings came down in a power stroke and he was sailing away.

1643903913967.jpeg

The crow was shot with a telephoto lens against a grey sky, so the image came out as a black silhouette. It was almost a discard but I started playing with it in photoshop. I cranked up the brightness/contrast function enough to get detail of his feathers. Doing that also turned the brown leaves red, like cherry blossoms, my favorite color. I also painted his eye in red, because I'm the artist.

1643904440422.jpeg

I like the pose, doesn't happen often with wildlife. Nikon D5200 digital single lens reflex camera, 200mm lens, Photoshop 7. Thanks for looking, comments and critique welcome as always.

Last edited:
Turned out great! I admire anyone who can capture these guys (the GBH) taking off/landing - they are at their most interesting stage then, looking awkward with the legs splayed every which way. It's so endearing, because of course in flight they look smooth and perfect and sleek. You had a great perspective, too. Good work!

I like what you did with the crow. Fun stuff!!

Turned out great! I admire anyone who can capture these guys (the GBH) taking off/landing - they are at their most interesting stage then, looking awkward with the legs splayed every which way. It's so endearing, because of course in flight they look smooth and perfect and sleek. You had a great perspective, too. Good work!

I like what you did with the crow. Fun stuff!!