Stuffed toy. First attempt at oil pastels.

16ga

This is my first attempt at oil pastels.
OP001 Stuffed toy.jpg

Working with oil pastels wasn't exactly what I expected and I'm still not really sure what I think of them.

You’ve done very well. Nice clear colours. When I tried them, all I could get was muddy colours.

You certainly laid down some nice, bright colors here. Cute!
Working with oil pastels wasn't exactly what I expected and I'm still not really sure what I think of them.
hmm...that doesn't sound like a rave review. ;) What brand were these? The colors look very rich. I am also noticing the texture of the paper - Mi-Teintes or similar, by any chance? Although this paper is really pushed as being great for pastels, I personally do NOT like it for oil pastels. I find trying to blend in all that heavy texture too labor intensive. Maybe I'm just lazy. ;) But a smoother paper might make them easier to handle.

I'm interested to know what challenges you had while you worked with them. :)

Thanks everyone. Not having a lot of colors to work with or experience mixing I wanted to find something with bright colors without too many different shades.

The pastels are a cheap crafters closet set of 15.
paper is strathmore pastel paper 400 series. I should have pointed out its a smaller 4.5”x6” sheet.

Most of my issues were simply from being inexperienced with the medium.
First I sorta expected them to cover better and hadn't expected the pencil lines to show though.
The pastels themselves were unconformable to work with as I prefer something more square. Plus the edges wear down quicker then I expected while trying to do more precise work.
Blending of course wasn't as easy as I expected which made the highlights and shadows come out somewhat wield. But I also found it to be a challenge trying to blend without pushing color outside of the intended area.