Sobriety

Hausamann

Way back in 1981 I was diagnosed as an alcoholic. After detox and rehab I stopped drinking for two years. But that does not mean I had any resemblance of sobriety. I was a dry drunk. As the say, 'If you take the alcohol out of a fruitcake you still have a fruitcake'. Then I relapsed for several months and became abstinent for a few months, then relapsed and so on for the next seven years. In 1988, homeless and destitute, I was bleeding from every hole except my ears. I stopped drinking again.

When two years of sobriety approached I became anxious about relapsing again like my first attempt. To help me through the two year spell I decided to do a painting about what sobriety means to me. That is how this painting came about.

Not long before I started painting it, I lost everything in a fire. It seemed like a test for me, but I eventually embraced it as a new beginning. I moved to the city, got a job in electronics and rented a unit to live in. My furniture was a mattress on the floor and two chairs. One of the chairs became my easel.

Nth Ryde Studio.jpg

Even though I have been offered good money for this painting, I treasure it too much to sell it.
It has now been over 35 years since I've had a drink or drug.

sobriety1.JPG

Oh wow… you have been through so much and I hope your better days continue. Awesome painting - no wonder you can’t part with it. It holds so much meaning and maybe even provides a sense of strength and comfort when you need it. I’m sure many of us can relate to the images in your head like the can of worms and burning the candle at both ends!

What a stunning painting. So intricate, full of symbols- one to study on and ponder. No wonder you've been offered good money for it - and no wonder you can't part with it.

Thank you for sharing your backstory. The figure passed out on the park bench is riveting. Great work!