Aphantasia

snoball

Certifiable
Supporting Member
I started a thread about this on WC but it didn't make it through the transfer. I was going to copy and paste parts of it here but I'll just start a new one. This is something that fascinates me. I have this but most people I talk to, including my husband, do not. I would think that being an artist I would be able to visualize but I can't. I think in facts not images. Here is what Wikipedia says about Aphantasia:

Aphantasia is a mental condition characterized by an inability to voluntarily visualize mental imagery. Many people with aphantasia also report an inability to recall sounds, smells, or sensations of touch. Some also report prosopagnosia, the inability to recognize faces.

Life with Aphantasia.jpg

I don't have that, on the contrary my memory is almost photographic and I can recall people and scenes easily.
Of course, some of the memories may have been photoshopped by the image editor in my brain cell.

I can recall people and scenes and places easily too, but in facts and memories, not images.

I can visualise the images you posted in what the heck do you look like thread. Can you visualise them?

I have visions

most of the time I don't

Last edited by a moderator:
I definitely don't have that in the least. Sno, does it bother you in any way that you might have this?

I can visualise the images you posted in what the heck do you look like thread. Can you visualise them?
No, I can't visualize them. I remember well what most all of them look like but to "see" them in my mind's eye, I can't.

you probably overestimate the mind's eye

since it's not an eye, rather a thought

I definitely don't have that in the least. Sno, does it bother you in any way that you might have this?