A little Fun

P. Barrie

Today I decided to make a small change to one of my landscape paintings. I squeezed out small globs of Ultramarine, Cad Lemon, Cad Orange, white, and greenish umber onto a 5-1/2” x 8-1/2” piece of paper. After making the change, I started drawing with the globs of color. Without really thinking about anything I played with color and shapes, rotating the paper around as I worked?
I realize now that in my last attempts at non-representational painting, I was trying to come up with something...o_O This is what I came up with today. I feel some success with coming up with nothing in mind.

18E2E0A3-98B0-4F5A-8C38-CF533FBFBC92.jpeg

At the end of the day abstracted spontaneity can yield terrific results. A million viewers can see a million different things in it and that’s great.

Nufocus, thanks, I guess that’s an allure of non-representation art. I think this image is more non-representational as I was not consciously thinking of anything to abstract, unless in this case the circular forms are considered an object of abstraction. I’m not real clear on distinctions...if there are any. Seems there are differing definitions and areas of thought on these distinctions. Picasso once said there is no abstraction in art, Jackson pollack seemed to start with abstraction, then later fumbled around (mostly drunk) with non-representational drippings.
If you zoom in on a Monet, it is a plethora of (abstract?) brushmarks.
I really don’t know much about this...I very well could be all wet here.:whistle:

Last edited:
This is a nice piece, it has a cool feeling of ice cream cones. That's me though. I like it. You should keep playing around in this genre. :)

Thanks Arty. if you are seeing something (representational) then does this become an abstraction? To the viewer I guess...