water color tips

ntl

Contributing Member
What tips of any kind do you have for working with watercolor?
I'm new at using wc for anything other than quick studies, so can probably use a lot of them.
Two from me:
I cut about a 1/4 rectangle from a piece of wc paper to use as a "mask" over my project to protect it from any accidental drips. It looks like a fat, bold, capital L with both legs fat.
A friend uses a chunk of a Mister Clean Magic Eraser to lift away unwanted paint.

Hey, that's a great idea that I've not used before (the masking 'L'). I like it. Thank you. Not sure I'd be brave enough to use the Magic Eraser on my beautiful paper! Maybe I'll test it on some cheaper paper first. :LOL:

I like to have everything I need nearby, Kleenex, paper towels, clean water, as well as the "working" water, Q-tips, etc. I find Kleenex to be the best for lifting paint off. I also use an eyedropper to add just the right amount of (clean) water to the paint. You probably already know this, but never leave your brushes sit in the water. Always lay them down on a paper towel after stirring them clean in the water, keeping the bristles formed.

I haven't used the magic eraser yet either, not sure I will.

I want to have my tools close, too, then may not have space to work in, :LOL:. I have a glass topped work table and use about 4 feet of space for most stuff. Kleenex box and drinking water are on an end table. How do you use the Q-tips? Iuse kleenex, too, to lift color, rather than paper towels. Instead of an eye dropper, I use a small squeezable medicine vial to drop a bit of clean water onto my paint. Never thought to law brushes on a towel, I think I'll try that--a dedicated place for them, rather than helter-skelter.