Stuart Davies

Desforges

I am not very good at landscapes , or perhaps I prefer telling stories. But, I would like to get into it more. I discovered the videos of Stuart Davies and like his skies and ways of simplifying complexed textures. Has anyone looked at his style and what do you think?

Yes. i like his style and think it has lots of sense since i used to instruct my self the same method in the past and even today. the problem is that i never get satisfied and destroy the beauty of simplicity. there was another one that painted the same but all his online films removed.

His paintings are very nice to view. I have not watched a video so I don't know his method but I'm sure it is based on less is more which is a good wat to go.

I am not sure I'm a big fan of his work, personally. It's nice. Of course it's pleasant to look at! The technique has almost too much blending and softness for me. This is just my critical opinion and preference. I'm sure he's a good teacher though, as far as teaching "what" to paint, and the compositional aspects of landscape work.

There is something that I like about it, maybe the way to look at things that seem complicated . Something to learn . I tend to overwork everything.

Last edited:
actualy im sure every painter when he start notice shapes that the solvents create on the surface when he block in, start using these as patherns guide. most in landscape paintings. Stephan baumann, Bob ross, Jerry yarnell, Byron pickering using it and im sure many more.

I am not very good at landscapes , or perhaps I prefer telling stories. But, I would like to get into it more. I discovered the videos of Stuart Davies and like his skies and ways of simplifying complexed textures. Has anyone looked at his style and what do you think?