A Question from the Darkside !

Iain Fenwick

Sounds Ominous but it's not really ... i was just wondering ... is anyone an avid reader of The Collected Ghost Stories of M.R.James ? ... the reason i ask this is not only because i'm heavily into his Supernatural works but also because i concentrate exclusively on illustrating various scenes from them and if possible i would like to discuss people's ideas concerning how these might look (i'm trying to find a particular style which i can call my own) ... it would help me greatly to visualise what others can see especially from their favourite passages ...

Sorry, but I am not familiar with M. R. James. H. P. Lovecraft has generally been my favorite for those types of stories. But, I can understand your desire to paint scenes from such literature. I would love to create a painting based upon "Pickman's Model" from H. P. Lovecraft, but I'm not that good at inventing subjects totally from imagination.

Your quest is futile. You won’t find what you are looking for as what will come from you will eventually encompass your skill and be your style. I need a model but I don't paint the model, I use the model to block in shapes and then I close the book on the model and I paint what comes to mind. I allow the painting to rule. Your style will come of itself from your self. Paint, paint, and paint, until you are happy with what you paint. I would think you would need an excellent grasp of visual memory to depict a scene from your mind. I personally have trouble picturing the same scene twice. Good luck with it. William Blake did some fascinating work from within.

I'm not familiar with this author, either. However, if you want feedback and opinions, you could likely share one of the illustrations as your "reference image" when you want to begin, or have already started, your own interpretation. That might be the easiest solution.