Process?

Artyczar

What is your process for making your art?

For me, since I'm a mixed media artist and I work in various styles, it's always different. But lately, I've been working on paper grocery bags. I still don't know how I feel about them, they are all graphic abstracts--very primitive-looking. I'd planned to make around fifteen of them and I have the process down, as I've made a couple so far. So, here I'm sharing the steps. I hope you will share yours too.

1. I start with a very small, and crude, ballpoint pen sketch.
2. I scan it and bring it into Photoshop.
3. I play with it, picking a color palette.
4. I print it out for reference and tape it to the wall.
5. I cut open a paper grocery bag, cut the bottom section off, then cut that in half.
6. I glue those two pieces to the sides of the bag so half-handles of the bag have little tabs that stick out and a full handle on top.
7. I iron the bag.
8. I draw the composition with a pencil onto the surface.
9. I paint the parts on the bag in acrylic (which I hate) that I want to be painted.
10. I then cut pieces of thick manila paper into shapes which will soon be collaged to the bag.
11. I cut fabric shapes and iron them with starch to make them flat and hard.
12. I spray adhesive on the back of the manila paper and the fabric and stick them to the bag where there isn't any paint.
13. After the adhesive dries, I spray the whole thing with a fixative to matte any sticky bits.
14. I may sew into the bag, depending.
14. Sign and date.

Takes about three full-time days.

Photoshop comp:
bagtestcomp0.jpg

Finished:
catabag72.jpg

Photoshop comp:
bagtestcomp1.jpg

Finished:
bag2whitebackground72.jpg

1. Decide the format and size (Picture Plane 1)
  2. Select and apply an armature (Picture Plane 2)
  3. Block in the major abstract shapes (Picture Plane 3)
  4. Refine these shapes into subjects (Picture Plane 4)
  5. Add the details (Picture Plane 5)