If You Hadn't Gone to Art School....

musket

... What kind of school would you have gone to instead?

I would have applied to a school in New York, most likely NYU, with a good fencing team and tried for an athletic scholarship, as an English major. I'm not sure why I didn't do this to begin with, or at least try. I might not have made it, having such relatively poor math skills, but in a lot of ways in hindsight it would have made more sense than going to Cooper Union did, considering that I really didn't take up art until I was in my mid-forties.

Last edited:
I didn't go to art school, I didn't go to college/University, I graduated high school and that was it. 🙁 And I don't think I'd change a thing.

I never went to art school either, although I would have liked to. However, I never really knew much about art until later in life. If I asked any of my family if they'd heard of Klimt, they'd probably think he was from some box set or soap opera.

I hardly even went to Jr. high school. I left around the 8th grade. Later I took a few continuation classes in high school and a class or two in community college. Not really art though. In my 30s I took a ceramic class and absolutely hated it.

If I hadn't been an artist and musician most of my life, I would have liked to been a researcher of some kind, maybe something having to do with medicine or anthropology.

I danced as a young child, but I was sort of made to do it, so I didn't enjoy it as I should have, but I loved it when I was able to go out dancing with my friends at the clubs.

You must be happy about the new movie of Dune coming up, John.

I think it's true to some extent. I hated history in school, but now I love it. I had no clue about physics in school either, and I'll never be a maven, but it's fun to try.

A lot depends on getting a great teacher. My soph English teacher was. But they're very rare.

I saw the trailer…

A work of art.

Last edited by a moderator: