Digital Art Process - A Space Odyssey - Year 1

MrBungle

Greetings HAL 9000,

I thought I’d share my digital process creating art in Procreate and to anyone who wants to use it as reference. Maybe get a little more out of Procreate. Or ya need something new to read. Lol. I’m a natural born teacher I guess. I’m also a guitar instructor on Taylor Robinson music . :)

I’m going to use my current drawing ”accident” as the subject for this. (Insert your sketch here)

Let me preface by I typically use the gray scale to color method. I do like ultra detailed imagery as well but again take what you want out of this. :)
I also love black and white work and normally don’t use color as I need more work with my color palettes 🎨 . But we are going to paint this as it’s part of the lesson.

Also I use blending modes. Its has helped making the process a tad easier on procreate and that’s what I want is easy.
The assumption is you know a little about procreate. Also can apply to photoshop, sketchbook….etc.
Ok first image break down.
‘Number 1.
IMG_0053.jpeg

Over to the right is the meat of digital creation is layers.
You can see…the setup above.
1. The sketch
2. Layer modes and opacity
3. Layer enabled
4. Opacity set to 30 percent so when I paint on top of it I can create new lines.
5. The type of layer mode. Here is normal. Nothing special attributes set to the layer.

Next. Image 2
IMG_0050.jpeg

So looking at the layers I can’t stress enough the importance of layer management while working with layer modes.
think of it as like directory structure in windows or Mac. Want keep things organized. Being this is the gray scale to color method I have a folder called “Grayscale” and in a folder called cross with all the layers.

1. This is my shape layer. Painted the entire image a light gray color. Again, normal blending mode. And after that lock the layer so you don’t mess it up on accident on accident. Layer management. Everything you do on a separate layer. You’ll see why later.