Concrete Bird Feeder – Update 2023-10-17

Hermes2020

I have been working on the bird feeder's most complex element, the right arm and hand. One of the design challenges was obtaining a smooth transition between the realistic Greek sculpture inspired arm and shoulder and the abstract slices of the hand. Another was making the mould for the arm, which is something I've never done before. I will post a more detailed description of how I am making the moulds for the realistic elements. A pleasant accidental effect that pleases me vey much is the uncontrolled development of colours in the concrete as it cures. I have read that it has to do with minerals in the tap water I use to make the concrete mixture.

Here is a photo of the whole arm and shoulder. The arm is hollow, with orthopaedic plates inside. The weight is 11 kg.

Right Arm and Hand.jpg

The bracket that will hold the feeder tray is part of the hand element and is an extension of the front arm plate.

The flat part of the shoulder has an embedded plate with three captive M10 stainless nuts for the connecting threaded rods. I have screwed in the middle rod to illustrate.

Right Arm with Rod.jpg

I think the contour of the shoulder is rather beautiful and I hope it will encourage people to touch it.

Right Shoulder Contour.jpg

Right Shoulder.jpg

In one of my next updates I will describe the mould making procedure I have developed. As usual, I will be happy answer any questions and describe any unclear steps in more detail.

This is turning out to be amazing. When you post the next photos, post something with it for size comparison. I'm liking it so far. (y) ❤️

This is turning out to be amazing. When you post the next photos, post something with it for size comparison. I'm liking it so far. (y) ❤️