When Your Idea Exceeds Your Skillset?

JessieNebulous

Do you guys know that feeling when you get an idea for a piece that you love but you don't quite have the necessary skill set to execute it properly? That happened to me today, and while it's shown me where I can focus to improve my skills, overall it's left me feeling very discouraged.

I had an idea for a castle on a floating island held aloft by birds set against a cloudy night sky with a full moon. Problem is, I have very little experience with buildings, and while the sketch looked pretty good, as soon as I started adding color, well... my castle looks like a tiered cake. And I don't think it's just the initial ugly phase you often get with paintings either. I unintentionally painted a cake, no 2 ways about it.

So, while I do plan to do some castle studies and build up my skill set and return to this idea later, currently I feel rather bummed out. I was just hoping you guys can relate.

So, while I do plan to do some castle studies and build up my skill set and return to this idea later, currently I feel rather bummed out. I was just hoping you guys can relate.
Definitely can relate. One thing I have noticed is that I can acquire the skills I need relatively quickly, once I know what needs development or practice. So I remind myself of that when I aim a little too high :)

Do you guys know that feeling when you get an idea for a piece that you love but you don't quite have the necessary skill set to execute it properly?
😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭
...yes.

Anyway, a layer cake castle? You mean like this?
D071BB22-8C45-4824-A18A-9FB7F3B2FC2E.jpg

https://www.disneyeveryday.com/flashback-friday-cinderella-castle-dressed-as-a-25th-birthday-cake/ :D

Oh yes, I'm very familiar with that feeling!

Usually with me there's a point at which the painting is looking really promising, which only increases my hope that it's going to turn out well. And then I ruin it!