Using Oils/Cleaning Brushes

Artyczar

I am posting this, I guess as a tutorial for anyone who might be interested in how to use oils. I am completely self-taught, so take it for what that's worth to you. This is my system and my viewpoint on oil painting. I am not a teacher by any stretch of the imagination. But I have been working in oils for over 30 years, so at least that's something.

This is all reworded from something I posted on my blog some time ago which was meant to help anyone who has felt intimidated by oil painting in general. A lot of people that want to start in this medium can get easily discouraged, like it’s some kind of ominous medium that they won’t be able to conquer. I, for one, don’t know how people work in acrylic because it dries so fast. Acrylics are not my bag at all.

Oils stay wet forever practically--some colors more than others. But I think the number one barrier as to why people don’t try, and/or fail, is because they don’t know how to care for the materials. I really believe that is the reason. Working with the actual paint is usually not the reason. All painting is trial and error. You get to know how to manipulate the stuff by pushing it out of the tube onto the palette, and brushing it on a canvas. It’s not all that different from acrylics in that regard.

It’s the cleaning up afterward and taking care of your brushes that stops a lot of people, and many are afraid of the smell. The "toxicity." It’s not all that horrible really. You can wear gloves and a mask if it really freaks you out that much. I personally don’t think all that’s needed. Use a fan and open a window is you’re that paranoid. I don't do any of that.

First of all, I use a nontoxic cleaner called Turpenoid Natural:

00443-1004-4ww.jpg

I keep it contained inside of a Silicoil jar:

06909-1005-3ww-l.jpg