New plein air

Bongo

I am new to Plein air and to oil painting. As those of you that have done it know, Plein air painting can be a humbling experience and trying to learn oil painting at the same time can chop you off at the knees. One thing I realized quickly is that finding a composition for P.A. is a lot more challenging than composing with a camera. It seems like the best angles are always in the middle of the street, edge of a cliff, on someone's front lawn, above your head, or on the ground. All do-able for 1/125 of a second it takes to make a photo - but not for the hour+ it takes to do a painting.

This is an 8x10 I did this afternoon. The glistening spots are from the wet paint, after it dries they go away.

pa painting.jpg

Not bad Bongo. Plein Aire is difficult. As to finding the composition, try the viewfinder you carry with you or just cut one from card stock to carry.
view.jpg

bel lavoro. mi piace
Mi piace il mirino nella foto, ho questo.
(In realtà stavo mettendo le dita nella posizione sbagliata, quindi ha più senso, è una cornice, il mio era un esagono)

I love this Bongo. I think you did really well. It gives me a lot of inspiration to do it myself. Still working up the nerve. Your composition is framed perfectly, so you seem to already have that part down. ❤️

:ROFLMAO:o_O:po_O:ROFLMAO::love:o_O:)
Wow, I sure relate to that! Finding a ”paintable” scene is -for me-difficult, too. Some people seem to be able to make even the trash cans in the alley look good.
For two firsts, plain air and oil, you sure have a winner: oomposition, old lead-in, three nice focal areas, the Rees to the V left, the flowers, and the distant tree. It’s a wonderful piece! Congratulations!