Little Squirrel

Vivien

This is cross-posted from Wildlife & Animal October Challenge on Creative Spark. This is my first time opening a new Thread on this Site so hope I'm doing it correctly! (I'm from Wet Canvas)
I am fascinated by Squirrels, as there are no Squirrels in New Zealand and I've only seen pictures of them on the Internet or when we've been on holiday overseas - so I had to paint the Squirrel. I used PanPastels as I knew they would give me the lovely soft, fur, look I wanted, and I love using my PanPastels as there is very little dust from them while using them.
20cm x 30cm PanPastels on Grey Mi-Teintes paper

First Chg Animals Creative Spark.jpg

Very good to see your cheeky squirrel again, Viv. He is sweet. They are actually classed as vermin here as they took over after driving out the indigenous red squirrels from England. I believe there are still red squirrels in Scotland.

Such a good job, Vivien! You've captured the posture, and the way they tend to hold those little front paws.

Here is the USA we have squirrels everywhere, of various shades of gray, brown, even black. They can definitely be pests when they live in trees very close to houses. Away from houses, they tend to themselves and their little squirrel jobs and families. They are terrific jumpers and can be fun to watch.

Nice work! :)

If there are no squirrels in New Zealand what critters jump out in front of your car and then debate which way to go? This is really nice and as cute as any squirrel I've seen! I've never tried Pan Pastels but they worked so well for the soft, furry look.

If there are no squirrels in New Zealand what critters jump out in front of your car and then debate which way to go? This is really nice and as cute as any squirrel I've seen! I've never tried Pan Pastels but they worked so well for the soft, furry look.