Bluffed

Bartc

Out at Moss Beach Bluffs near Half Moon Bay, CA. Neocolor II with waterbrush on hot pressed Bockingford paper. B. Charlow 2023

Not sure about this new medium. I'm still learning how it works (or doesn't) for me.
Moss Beach Bluffs 2023.jpg

It's a challenge, for sure. I'm glad you're keeping at it. Your "other" new colors are a good addition. The layering helps your transitions. What do you see as working, or not working?
I'm torn between looking at the upper portion vs the lower portion.

It's a challenge, for sure. I'm glad you're keeping at it. Your "other" new colors are a good addition. The layering helps your transitions. What do you see as working, or not working?
I'm torn between looking at the upper portion vs the lower portion.
Hard to pin down. Part of the issue might be that I am repeating old habits from other media instead of working from scratch with this new one's best attributes.

Clearly, if you want color and you want the strokes to show, this is a great medium. My intention here was to use a crosshatched set of color overlays, as one might do in print etchings, but I didn't get that quite right. There are ways to blend colors, since this isn't an infinite color set (30) and any water medium can do that, but I didn't use a palette to do that, which seems necessary. Color saturation and value were a challenge in this one too. None of this would be any problem at all for me in acrylic, gouache, watercolor, etc., but maybe in pastel.

And though I've seen inspiring white overlays in YT video demos with this medium, I have not found white to be sufficiently opaque at all!

So in the end I'm with you as to where to focus in this one.

Where I liked it best was in the scrub bushes in the foreground. There I wanted some strokes to show and overlay about 4 colors and it appears to have worked. I'm not thrilled with the mountains and the sky is overly dark and saturated for my taste.