Birds using Derwent Graphitint watersoluble pencils

Joy

Contributing Member
These were done in Derwent Graphitint watersoluble pencils. These are graphite with a bit of color, so different from other watercolor/colored pencils. (I know nothing about colored pencils.) A5 size on Hahnemuhle tinted paper, 95 lb. A new medium for me, as the YouTube artists were banging on about how great they were. Obviously, I am new to this and added a wee bit of watercolor in a few spots.The colors of the pencils are meant to be subdued, for a "hint" of color. There are no bright colors in the sets. Any hints/tips greatly appreciated.

The first is a house sparrow, followed by a barred owl.

F0464340-18D7-42AA-88C2-159463D29FC1_1_201_a.jpeg

8E8818B6-F9A2-4EB0-85CB-656E69D5C8FF_1_201_a.jpeg

Excellent work, Joy. I will look up the pencils, thanks for the information.

These are lovely! ❤️❤️ I have the Graphitints but have never found much use for them.

Your work is super! I've wanted a set ever since I first learned of them. I think in many instances, the muted colors are more natural.

Wow Joy, these are so good. I especially love your sparrow. It has a load of beautiful character. ❤️

These are both lovely Joy. I love the fluffy look of the owl. :)

Hello Joy.
I love very much these birds. Their shape is beautiful, they look really vivid.
(y)

Thank you, all, for taking the time to comment! I really appreciate the comaraderie here.
Penny - There are a lot of reviews of the pencils on YouTube. With your experience in CP, they should work well for you. They are made in the UK. A set of 12 at Dick Blick was $17.99 USD. I was going to get only 6 colors to start, but they were only $2 USD less than the 12 set.

Classic, these two on toned were the only time I used them. Next I am going to do a cat on white paper.