Cats in Derwent Graphitint water soluble pencil

Joy

Contributing Member
These two cats were done with Derwent Graphitint water soluble pencils, and a bit of watercolor. Both were done in Canson XL sketchbook, 140 watercolor paper, about 6 x 6. Since I am still learning to use the pencils, they are overworked in areas. The ginger cat’s BG has marks from the pencil that scored the cheaper paper. Plus, I reworked the whiskers five or six times, so they are not very natural. I am not familiar with CP in general, but they seem rather labor intensive/time-consuming. And I am a very slow painter to start. The white cat (Kay’s cat, Mini Pearl) has a BG done with watercolor, as I could not imagine doing anything but small areas with pencils.

2C275813-3B60-4193-91AC-029F46748C7C_1_201_a.jpeg

418567DF-C2E1-41BF-AA23-D2BBEDB65183_1_201_a.jpeg

They have lovely expressions, Joy. The ginger marmalade cat brings to mind a cat I had named “Blue”.

Very nice work on these cats, Joy. They both have that spark of life in the eyes and you did such nice work on them overall. I really like the background behind the white cat. It adds interest but doesn't detract from the gorgeous animal.

CPBG? You're so busted, lady!
Putting that aside, these are so very nice! I found the Graphitints to be very soft in color, but you have worked them up to more substance than I remember.

Thanks all, for taking a look and your kind comments.

Penny - I didn't know you ever had cats, just dogs.
CPBG? You're so busted, lady!
Putting that aside, these are so very nice! I found the Graphitints to be very soft in color, but you have worked them up to more substance than I remember.
Lamar - Not sure what the first line means. CP = colored pencil, BG = background, and are common abbreviations on forums, YouTube, etc. But I have not seen the two together. I did overwork these to get a brighter color.

They are both beautiful.