Abstract landscape

Donna T

Contributing Member
This doesn't really fit any category but it's done with acrylics so it might as well go here. I was using acrylic paper to roll out excess paint from another project when I noticed that the layers were creating a landscape, or at least a dark area on top of a light area and I thought the golden color looked a lot like the fields in my area. We've had some storms recently so maybe that's what was on my mind. I tried not to get fussy and thought using a knife instead of a brush might help. (Wayne, if you see this it's ok to laugh because I have zero experience with a painting knife!) 6x8 on acrylic paper

IMG_3353pscs.jpg

Thanks Wayne. I hope to play around with more like this - and think I’ll read up on how to paint with a knife.

I totally agree with Wayne!
There’s lots of ways to use the same tool. You prove you didn’t need the bigger knife strokes in this piece.
And I’m curious, what do you mean when you said you were rolling out paint from another project? Is this an oil paint thing?
My taste in art has changed as I’ve gotten older. I’ve been smitten with many different types and subjects over the year. But for the last 10 yrs I fell in love with abstract landscapes. I just find I can get lost in them and they can be quite sublime. I hope one day I can create a good one.
You did a great job here! What a wonderful happy accident/unintended discovery!
Thanks for sharing and describing how this came to be.🙂