Who'd'a Thunk It?

Rich53

< no pictures >
My wife and I moved down here about 12 years ago. Before we left NY, I got some photo chemicals. They stayed packed away until this past week when the smell of the stop bath became overwhelming. (L-O-N-G story.)

I finally pulled out the chems, changing bag, tank, and defroze my exposed B+W film. Tested the fixer with a piece of film. It took 10 minutes to clear the film. Mixed up the solutions, developed the film, and, "Too-rah! Too-ray! O frabjous day!" It works! 🎉😂🎉

Now, I need to decide if I want to invest in a scanner 🤑, or set up a darkroom (👍) – I still have the enlarger, trays, timer, etc, but room's a little tight. (Y'all can see the way I'm leaning, right?)

Thanks for reading this, and rejoice!

--Rich

The last time I did any developing and printing in a darkroom was when I was a student and was allowed to use the very well equipped darkroom in the Physics Department.

I'm thrilled for you! Powder chems have an almost indefinite shelf life, just waiting to be mixed up.

I'm in the exact same situation! It's not that big a deal to shoot and develop one's own film, but going that extra step and getting into enlarging silver gelatin prints is whole nuther ballgame. We have NO room here - but an open corner in an unfinished section of the basement. It will take not just framing out that corner, but blacking out the glass block windows on one side while trying to install ventilation through the other. Water is nearby, just getting it over there and getting a sink is also desired.

We bought a film scanner and a new photo printer. :LOL: It's now the "hybrid technique" here for the foreseeable future. The enlarger, safelights, you know the drill - all patiently waiting to see what happens.

For me, getting that negative is the main thing.

Anyway - congrats, Rich! Huzzah! 🎉