So I'm Thinkin'...

musket

... about trying colored pencil, of which I have no knowledge whatsoever. Seems like the watercolor ones would be the most versatile.

First question--which brands do you people use, and why?

hi Musket,
given that they are only personal impressions and that I would listen to the other answers you will receive, they will certainly come from those who have much more talent and competence,
I really like polycrhomo, faber castel brand,
several years ago I had found one attached to a newspaper.
3 years ago looking for colored pencils I got the set of 12, set I think a fair price (in the set I had seen it was similar to the other brands) for the value and good availability.
, lately I was looking for black or blue or red but individually I can't find them, or even on the internet I happened to see them but also sold at 3 or 5 times the market price. (so in a period I searched online for some posts or reviews on the subject)
the sets instead, in general, the various sets, there are 12, 24, 50 etc
regardless of personal feelings, I have read them well and I think they are quite positively sponsored.

of derwent I read well as watercolors.
I read the prismacolor very well in general and I believe that many artists use them,
I remember photos with drawings and premier pismacolor, perhaps watercolor have another series. the prismacolor.

I have not personally tried prismacolor, but it did not happen to me reading, feeling and that they are excellent.

I tried a Carbothello looking for alternatives to polycromo,
even these read well.
these I think if you are looking for something that is very reminiscent of charcoals. are similar, a little less dust but really, I tried a red and impressions it was like when I tried charcoal. often in the last 2 years, so I was wondering which ones to look for and which ones you like, I read that these, the faber castel have oil among components, perhaps this is a reason why I felt better.