Portrait of my brother Inktense Pencil Xpost Human Figure

Hawkmoth

Thought I'd cross-post this here because I've discovered that Inktense pencils are really nice for drawing portraits. I'm a beginner at portraits and find the Inktense pencil method quite forgiving. I just used one pencil on cold press watercolour paper, with wax resist crayon for highlights in hair/beard. I'm wondering if a wax blender pencil would work as a resist. Anyone tried that?

Joel First finished363.jpg

Excellent work, Claudia. a creative way of using Inktense pencils. I’ve just got myself a small set and want to find out more about using them.

Nice portrait! What color Inktense did you use? I have used oil pastel blenders and white ones (scraped off later, in most cases) for resists with watermedia, but haven't tried pencil blenders.

Thanks so much for your lovely comments folks, I really appreciate the feedback.

Nice portrait! What color Inktense did you use? I have used oil pastel blenders and white ones (scraped off later, in most cases) for resists with watermedia, but haven't tried pencil blenders.
I used Inktense number 2000 'Bark'. It's my favourite Inktense colour, and worked really well for the portrait because you can get a full range of tones from one pencil - from a very light wash to an intense dark. I did a previous portrait using 2010 'Sepia Ink' and that was good for tonal range too, but I prefer the subtle colour of the bark.
Excellent work, Claudia. a creative way of using Inktense pencils. I’ve just got myself a small set and want to find out more about using them.
Hi Penny. I hope you enjoy experimenting with your Inktense pencils. I have the pencils and the blocks and I'm a huge fan. They are very versatile. I use the blocks on fabric, to create watercolour-style backgrounds for stitched landscapes.