Fashion Heroes

Hermes2020

It may come as a surprise (but then, maybe not) that I have always taken a keen interest in the world of fashion. Probably not surprisingly, my two big heroes are Issey Miyake and Rick Owens. Here is a video on Miyake, whose fragrance I've been using constantly for many years.

I love him for his sculptural designs.

Rick Owens is a deeply cultured and sharply intelligent guy. I like the way he speaks articulately about his design philosophy and his approach to learning the skills he needs to express himself.

Both of them are way beyond the typical chase after annual novelty, superficiality, and profits many of us associate with the fashion industry.

If I were 40 years younger, I would have worn Rick Owens.

I never knew much about fashion and paid it little attention until a few years ago, when I played around with cartooning and illustration and such. I could draw cartoon figures, but then realized that when it came to clothing them, I tended to draw a complete and utter blank, particularly with female figures - women's clothing tends to be more elaborate.

So then I developed more of an interest. I thought by reading up a bit about fashion design, it might be easier to imagine and draw clothing. I didn't get far with it, because as usual I simply had too much noise in my head, and I had no idea where to start anyway.

I did develop an appreciation for the stylized, expressive figure drawing employed by many fashion designers.

I did develop an appreciation for the stylized, expressive figure drawing employed by many fashion designers.
And not just their fashion drawings. A friend in Paris had some erotic drawings by Yves Saint Laurent that were so accomplished that I thought they were by Jean Cocteau when I saw them.