A New Mexican Olive

OliveOyl

Hello to the old kids…and all the new kids on the CS block.

I haven’t posted since March because I finally moved across country from Massachusetts to New Mexico. I’ve been like the girl who cried wolf because I’ve talked about it non-stop for so many years. (That fact will mean something to a few of you and absolutely nothing to most of you.)

After postponing moving plans for a year because of covid, it then took another long while for the house sale to go though, to get everything lined up, and to coordinate all the million little details. That’s kind of what I did for a living so it wasn’t TOO hard to accomplish. Still, it’s been a busy and complicated time, filled with squabbles and stress.

But it’s also been the longest period in my (adult) life where I haven’t painted. The studio was packed away in June, we landed here in August, and lived in three different Airbnb’s. I kept “creatively busy” in these dumpy little places by working on collages…knowing I’d be using them for the basis of my next batch of paintings. We moved into our new house last month and I just started painting again - this week. Whew.

Anyway, this is enough yakking from me for right now….although not surprisingly, I have SO MUCH MORE TO SAY.
But probably nothing very interesting.

At least not about art.

But about “my” land? Oh boy and oh yeah…..

I wondered what happened to you. Welcome back! And congratulations on finally landing on your place!

Hi, glad all's well, and that you're here! Congrats on the move--they ain't easy!--and your new home. May you all prosper in it.

Hi Olive! I've come across some of your posts here, and wondered where you've been. :) It's nice to meet you at last!

I'm looking forward to seeing your work, new and older! Your collages sound very interesting!

Welcome back!