Viral Instagram photographer confesses: His photos are AI-generated

It would be the same as if you used a public-domain image as a reference. Free to make an exact copy, modify, distribute ,sell etc. but cannot copyright unless you make significant changes from the public domain (AI) image.

If you are using an AI image that you made no one would know that your painting was a copy of it. Further you could destroy the AI image you made after you used it for reference - so it would no longer even exist.

I have this feeling AI is extensively going to be used for generating reference material. In fact, it probably already is - one more online rabbit hole to go look for and fall into... :)

I have this feeling AI is extensively going to be used for generating reference material. In fact, it probably already is - one more online rabbit hole to go look for and fall into... :)
absolutely. I've used it. Using Dali2 - most all results I got were horrible 'cause I'm not good at writing the prompt. But got some ideas from it - nothing I could use straight as a painting. I wanted to do a "Reservoir Dogs" with real dogs, with the dogs posed kinda like on the poster. SO this was what I got from Dalle
1695876067867.png

and this was my painting
1695876208597.png

It IS a rabbit hole that has been a dry hole for the most part for me.

absolutely. I've used it. Using Dali2 - most all results I got were horrible 'cause I'm not good at writing the prompt. But got some ideas from it - nothing I could use straight as a painting. I wanted to do a "Reservoir Dogs" with real dogs, with the dogs posed kinda like on the poster. SO this was what I got from Dalle

And that is one reason why AI art might not be as big of a threat to human illustrators as we think. To get really good results from it requires good prompt writing. I.e. prompting AIs is a skill in itself; you cannot just ask the secretary to quickly go generate a few great illustrations for some or other project.