My One and Only Attempt at Op Art

Hermes2020

When I was a post grad student I found a discarded spokeless bicycle wheel on campus. I took it home and mounted it on a 910 x 1220mm primed board. I painted sharply defined stripes in complementary colours on the board with Winsor & Newton oils, then strung nylon sash cord through the rim. I painted the cord with pigmented polyester resin. There is an interesting moving optical effect when one walks past the painting, because of the relative movement of the cords in front of the background stripes. I've had many offers, but I still have it.

DSC_5979a.jpg

This is a cool piece. I love the vibrancy of the complimentary colours.

Well, different materials, but it has the sculptural quality of the later pieces. And the quality, borne of meticulous planning...

This is a Wow piece. How long did it take you to paint? Those straight lines would have totally defeated me haha:)

Very bold. Almost op art, but it has a modern art vibe too, just with op art colors maybe. It happens to remind me of a bass drum head, so I have a special attraction to it. I love it. ♥️

Using brown packing tape bleeds through and leaves an interesting edge to the lines.

Yeah, a wow piece. Top notch art. IMO. (Do we always have to say IMO when we say something like that?) :)

So sharp and bold! Hard to take my eyes off of it. I would love the experience of seeing it in person to observe the moving optical effect- how cool is that?

I love that you have had offers but it stays with you. ❤

Excellent work!