Can I fix up this acrylic painting any?

16ga

This painting came in the lot of frames I recently got and I’d like to fix it up.
It’s 24”x36” inches and acrylic on stretchered canvas with no varnish or such over it. Artist is unknown to me and I’ve found nothing trying to look up the signature. I’m guessing a little known local artist.
I have little to no experience with acrylics. Especially when its on canvas.
20230702_121909E.jpg

The painting itself has a canvas which is now stretched some and loose, multiple dents in the canvas, cracks in the paint, and what looks to be an ink spot in the center. Its also fairly dirty.
20230702_121937.jpg

20230702_121943.jpg

Is there anything I can do to fix any of it and anyway to clean it without removing the paint? Just looking for ideas.

My experience with acrylics is that they are very tough and water-proof. I like repair challenges so here are my ideas:
You could tighten the frame by putting another stretcher frame inside of it and using shims to tighten the original frame; or, art suppliers have corner wedges to tighten the frame.
The canvas looks like it was never properly primed, or gessoed, so I would put a heavy coat of latex or acrylic primer on the back of the canvas - that should strengthen the cracked or creased areas so they don't open up - otherwise those creases on the front are "character" marks.
Gently clean the surface with a damp sponge, that should have no affect on the acrylic. After it dries, you could use a flat or matte varnish on the front surface to further strengthen the canvas. MinWax has small cans of water-based varnish that dries quickly - or a spray can of Krylon varnish.
Buy a couple of those little jars of cheap acrylic hobby paint to mix and match and cover that ink mark.
Hope that helps, good luck.

Last edited:
Thanks Bongo and Zen.

The paint has texture to it. Especially in the trees and bushes. I took some rubbing alcohol to a spot on the back and it dissolved the paint.