Makin' me crazy!!!!

Bartc

Taking pix to post or use as an outdoor painter in varying light situations is making me crazy! It's not that I don't understand color temperature - I was a pro photographer in my early years. It's just that sometimes the variance can be quite significant between viewing and/or photographing nonprofessionally inside from what I saw and captured outside. And trying to post online with a quick snap (and often even with a decent but non-pro scanner) compounds the mess.

Here are two examples of the same pastel from yesterday snapped on the same cell camera. One was snapped indoors (top), the other outdoors in natural light (bottom). While the difference may be ho hum to you, to me as the artist knowing the effort I put into color and contrast, it's maddening. And Photoshop corrections never satisfy....

Rodeo Beach Aug 22.jpg

rodeo outside view.jpg

Nice painting!
That is a big difference between the two. Trying to get the right photograph of my art used to drive me crazy too. Now, as long as it's not blurry, I settle for close enough.

I take photos of most of my images outdoors in the shade. I prefer the white/blue light of the outdoors rather than the yellower light from the indoors. Sometimes I can adjust the levels in Photoshop, but you're right, it doesn't quite capture the same outdoor brilliance.

Cameras really need a 'just tell it like it is' setting. :)

Its been a long time since I photographed my art properly, but I used to set it up in my hallway, which had no windows, and use a long exposure, and I used to light up my work using the torch on my phone, which is the clearest light I've got. That way I could light it from different angles, which is really useful for getting rid of the shadow on rough paper. Since I moved house, all my rooms have windows, so I now photograph my stuff in the bathroom, which is south facing and everything is white.