I'd like to introduce myself, if I may...

Artist's Helper

Hello everyone,

my name is Bob Burrage. I'm an Englishman living in the Santa Monica Mountains in California - near Malibu - hence not far from L.A. I'm a retired programmer. I don't count himself as an artist (yet) but I think I can be an artist's helper.

I tried to start painting a few years ago. I could draw, kinda, but I was very confused about colour mixing. So I researched colour theory, colour mixing and colour spaces and I wrote some utility applications to help me understand it all.

blue-plus-yellow-equals-green.png

This let me figure out why yellow plus blue can give green.

My plan was to learn to paint by copying from reference photos. My tool allows me to pick a colour from my reference photo, feed in a photo of my available paints, work out a recipe for the target colour and then check how close my mix is from a photo of it on my palette.

I've added other functionality such as
  • the ability to make a sketch from my subject photo and print it scaled to the size of my canvas for tracing,
  • breaking the subject into areas of similar colours, not unlike paint by numbers,
  • algorithms for comparing photos of my work in progress to the original subject reference photo.
There's a lot of cheating involved but the application has allowed me to paint some "ok" stuff and I'm learning from the process.
Judge for yourself at my website's gallery.

SugarRush.jpg

No talent involved, I'm just cheating.

I wrote the application for myself so it's a bit clunky but if you'd like to check it out I've made it somewhat more usable and it's available as a free program (MacOS or Windows) at https://www.artistshelper.com. I'm sure it'll get better once I get some feedback (please).

(It's called the "artist's helper" because that was the only cheap domain name i could get. If anyone's got a better name I'd love to hear it).