Around the light
Fog light, blue light.

Blue Light (Sm).jpg

Name: Blue Light
Size: 9x12
Medium: Pastels (Dusties)
Support: ColourFix Paper

--Rich

After "Blue Light", I was curious if the technique could be used with oil pastels, so...

Moon Glow (Sm) (WC).jpg

Name: Moon Glow
Size: 9x12
Medium: Oil Pastels
Support: Pastel Paper

And the answer is: Yeah, kinda.
The OPs seem to have more vibrancy than the dusties, although adding a light layer of white or pale grey might help.

--Rich

I think both of these work well, but I just love the colour of the oil pastels.

Both are great. I love that first one. Love the bend of the trees.... almost like they are introducing the moon

Interesting comparison. I have no experience with the oil pastels. I'm a dusty fan. Nice work.
Thanks! A big advantage of OPs is...
No dust!
A big drawback is that OPs readily melt. 🙁
I guess it's kind of a balancing act (water color outside in winter? 🥶) , but they are all fun to play experiment with.

--Rich

I agree that they both look good! I personally favor the texture that several layers of oil pastels can give. It can take a little time to get there, though.

Here, the softness of the scene shows off those "dusties" very well.

The OP is more vibrant, for sure!

"...I guess it's kind of a balancing act (water color outside in winter? 🥶) , but they are all fun to play experiment with. " --Rich
Maybe add a bit of alcohol?
One famous artist, Larry Seiler suggested
"...I grabbed a coffee can that was empty, put a whole roll of toilet paper inside, and poured a bottle of Isopropyl alcohol in it. This soaks into the roll of paper, and lit on top with a match produces a slow burning blue hot flame. The paper roll turns into a big wick, burns slow...and you put it out by covering and can use another day. I went down the road from the farmhouse we were renting at the time, and set up on the road looking back down. The coffee can heater between my feet below...."